Skip to content

Workspace location (Desktop)

Default location of the workspace

By default, Team Edition stores all its configuration files in the following folder:

OS Location
Windows %APPDATA%\DBeaverData\
MacOS ~/Library/DBeaverData/
Linux $XDG_DATA_HOME/DBeaverData/ ($XDG_DATA_HOME=~/.local/share if not set)

Folders inside DBeaverData

Folder Location
team-workspace Workspace files for Team Edition.
drivers Auto downloaded database drivers.
install-data Runtime files used by different versions ofr product.
secure Global credentials (encrypted with master password).
settings Global settings (e.g. user interface language).

Switch workspace

Switch the workspace to change where Team Edition stores settings, connections, and local data.

Switch workspace

  1. Open File -> Switch workspace.
  2. Select a workspace from the list (If you have already switched your workspace previously), or click Other....
  3. In the dialog, choose or enter a new workspace path.
  4. Click Launch.

Copy settings

When switching, you can copy settings to the new workspace:

  • Workbench layout - opened views, layout, and perspectives
  • Preferences - UI behavior, and editors configuration

Custom location

You can specify a custom workspace location by passing parameter -data <path> in the command line. <path> can be an absolute or relative directory path.

Use environment variables

You can use environment variables to set custom locations:

  • DBEAVER_WORKSPACE sets the workspace path to its non-empty value. If the variable is unset or empty, Team Edition uses the default workspace location.
  • DBEAVER_DATA sets the DBeaverData folder location. For a non-empty value, Team Edition uses the DBeaverData folder at that location. If the variable is unset or empty, Team Edition uses the default location for your operating system.

When both variables are set, DBEAVER_WORKSPACE sets the workspace path, and DBEAVER_DATA sets the DBeaverData folder location.

Migrating workspace

To transfer everything, including configurations, projects, scripts, diagrams, and other workspace data, copy the entire workspace folder and place it in the corresponding location on the new machine.

Note

In the Team Edition, Projects and Scripts are stored on the server and will be automatically synchronized after you log in to the Team Edition desktop client.